Turbulence Training 5th Transformation Challenge – end of week 5

July 1, 2009 at 10:15 pm 4 comments

This week was week 5 of the 12-week Turbulence Training 5th Transformation Challenge. It’s been a great week for nutrition and exercise but not so good (again) on my lifestyle goals. Here’s what I’ve been up to.

Exercise:

I actually did four TT workouts this week, although this is not recommended. I finished up the last one from phase 1 and did three from phase 2 of the TT Strength for Women programme. I only managed this because I was a workout down and started my workouts this week on Wednesday. So I did Wed, Fri, Sun and Tuesday. Only did intervals three times though. If I had felt I needed more time to recover I wouldn’t have done the four, but since this was the first week of a new programme, I was working out what weights I could lift, so wasn’t lifting overly heavy, and some exercises were body-weight only. Because of this I figured one recovery day was OK, but I won’t make a habit of this. Check out this post to find out why recovery is so important.

Least favourite exercises from phase 2: spiderman lunge and plank on ball.
Most favourite exercises: None really yet. Eccentric chin ups, maybe, but I can only control my descent for around two seconds. Will work on getting that up to a count of five.

Didn’t do yoga this week. I’ve been having a bit of back pain since trying that DVD, even doing the beginner workout, and it gets worse each time I try the DVD. I guess yoga is like pilates in that you probably shouldn’t do it without a live teacher there to correct you until you have a better idea of what you’re doing. I have only been doing the standing portion and there is a lot of bending. If someone with good proprioception and good posture and back knowledge like me can hurt themselves, it probably isn’t ideal for most people. I may come back to it in the future and try the lying portion of the DVD, but for now I am going to shelf yoga. I will return to doing some pilates – since it is supposed to be my speciality, and I could do with improving my own practice.

Also this week played badminton with hubby after work yesterday. It was hot. We were tired. Neither of us wanted to go. But we did and, of course, felt much better for it. And did extra walking on two days, so managed my ‘bonus cardio’ three times this week. I will aim for three times again this week but try to increase the duration. The walks were post-intervals and were only 15 minutes each.

Hubby still can’t workout properly because he can’t put/take any weight on the wrist he injured. So just body-weight exercises for lower body and some ab work.

Nutrition:

Did much better on micronutrients this week. Also, I managed to get 5 servings of fibrous veg four times this week, as per last week’s goals. But I’m still not drinking enough water during the day. Managed four glasses at work just three times this week.

Av cals: 1689
Av deficit: 660 (range ~0 to ~1100)
31% Fat, 19% Protein, 50% carbs
Nutrients: >100% RDA on everything except vit E but did manage 89%, on average, my highest yet, and well over 100% on some days.

Lifestyle

Only managed to get to bed by midnight once this week. Aim for three times in week 6.
Despite having meditation on my Joe’s Goals list, I have only done it twice in the last couple of months. Need to work on this too.

Body:

This week I crossed a minor milestone. My BMI fell below 35! I am no longer in the Obese II category, but merely a skinny Obese I. Obviously this is a huge improvement, but I have some way to go (another 25 pounds) until I cross out of the Obese category altogether.

Nevertheless, here is the good news:

  • Weight: 15 stone 2.2 (202.2 lbs, 91.9kg). Down 3.2 lbs
  • Body fat: 44.5%. Up 1% (but it’s TTOM – yes, again! One week early 😦 )
  • Waist: 109 cm. Down 1 cm
  • Hips: 127.5 cm. Down 1.5 cm
  • Thigh: 65 cm. Down 1 cm
  • Knee: 44.5 cm. Down 0.5 cm
  • Calf: 40.5 cm. Down 0.5 cm
  • Bicep: 40 cm. No change

Pretty happy with that lot!!

Specific goals for week 6:

  1. Go to bed earlier – aim for no later than midnight at least 3 days this week
  2. Get 100% RDA vit E and iron from food
  3. Drink a litre of water every day at work
  4. Do bonus cardio on three days
  5. Use my WiiFit for exercise on one of my ‘off’ days
  6. Get 5 servings of fibrous veg at least four days
  7. Do 20 mins Transcendental Meditation twice this week
Entry filed under: exercise, fat loss, heath and fitness, motivation, nutrition, Turbulence Training, weight loss, Weight training.

Train to maintain A quiet Sunday

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. blogbert  |  July 2, 2009 at 3:55 am

    Your making progress Angie. Yeah those planks on a swissball are a killer. If they are too hard to for a good length of time then just do them without the ball. I found that being able to do planks for a longer time worked my abs harder. It also gave me a good base to progress to the swissball.

    Since you say you are not getting to bed before midnight, my question is how much sleep are you getting?

    Keep working hard.

    Reply
    • 2. blubberbegone  |  July 2, 2009 at 8:03 am

      Hubby and I tend to sleep for a couple of hours when we get home from work. Then we get up, do dinner and workouts, and then go back to bed. Know it’s not ideal but in total we are getting enough sleep.

      Am planning on writing a future post on sleep and weight loss. Hopefully researching that will give me the kick up the behind I need to sort this out.

      Problem is, I am totally a night-owl. Always have been, even as a baby apparently.

  • 3. blogbert  |  July 4, 2009 at 3:15 am

    I understand the nigh-owl thing. My son, when he was little would up often throughout the night. I was living on short 3-4 hour naps a couple of time a night. Really zapped my energy and made me hungry for carbs and sugar. Not a good combination. Now he sleeps better unless he is sick.

    Why don’t you workout instead of napping after work? You may find you have more energy and have deeper sleeps. I know Craig Ballantyne did a podcast on sleeping. He said he started going to bed at the same time each night and getting up at the same time everyday. He notice a huge improvement in his energy level.

    Just a thought.

    Reply
  • 4. blubberbegone  |  July 4, 2009 at 9:57 am

    ROFLOL!!!! Love the suggestion Blogbert, and don’t think it hasn’t occurred to me to do my workout when I get home instead of going to bed and working out at midnight. It’s just that most days when I get home I can barely stand up, let alone work out. I think this cycle has to be broken at the other end first, hence the goal.

    Only I’m not doing so well on it so far. Just once out of the last three days have I got to bed by midnight. Although last night was 12.30, and it wasn’t even a school night, so that’s a mini success I suppose.

    Once I am regularly getting to bed by midnight, I will shift the goalposts to a bit earlier.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Blubberbegone Stats

  • Start: 16 stone, 45.7% body fat
  • Goal: 10 stone, 20% body fat
  • Today: 14 stone 13.6 lbs, 44.8% BF
  • Pounds lost: 14.4
  • Body fat lost: 0.9%
  • Exercise this week (Sat–Fri):
  • Total: 2 hr 5 mins
  • Jog/Walk: 20 mins
  • Walking: 20 mins
  • Burlesque: 1 hr
  • Pilates: 25 mins
  • African dance: mins
  • Tae Kwon Do: mins
  • Badminton: mins
  • Tai Chi: mins
  • Yoga: hr
  • Exercise last week: 4 hrs 40 mins
  • Joke of the Day

    I'm not fat - I'm a woman and a half.

    Motivation

    My Weight Loss Goals

  • 1. Crack 15 stone (210 lbs) for the fourth and final (I hope) time.
  • 2. Lose 10% of my body fat (14 stone 4).
  • 3. Fit into a size 18 (US 16).
  • 4. Get my body fat below 40%
  • 5. Lose another 10% of my body fat (12 stone 12/180 lbs).
  • 6. Get my BMI under 30 (12 stone 9/177 lbs) - no longer obese, just overweight now.
  • 7. Weigh less than my husband.
  • 8. Fit into a size 16 (US 14).
  • 9. Lose my third 10% (11 stone 8/162 lbs).
  • 10. Fit into a size 14 (US 12).
  • 11. Get my BMI under 25 (10 stone 8/148 lbs).
  • 12. Lose my fourth 10% (10 stone 6/ 146 lbs).
  • 13. Fit into a size 12 (US 10).
  • 14. Reach my goal weight (10 stone) and decide if I need to lose any more based on my muscularity and shape.
  • 15. Turn heads in a bikini!
  • My Fitness Goals for 2011

  • 1. Increase my cruising walking speed from around 5.0kph to 6.4kph.
  • 2. Increase continuous jogging time to 30 mins.
  • 3. Run a 5K for charity.
  • 4. Work on my crawl stroke and build up to 30 mins continuous swimming.
  • 5. Build up to 1 hour continuous and comfortable cycling.
  • 6. Squat 50kg.
  • 7. Do an unassisted chin up.
  • 8. Take a martial arts or self-defence class for at least 3 months.
  • 9. Beat my husband at badminton.
  • 10. Learn a new dance style.
  • My Blubber Reduction Journey

  • My highest measured weight ever:
  • Jan 1 2006 = 238 lbs (17 stone)
  • BBG blog starting weight:
  • Sep 16 2007 = 215.5 lbs (15 stone 5.5), 47.0% BF Lean body mass 114.2 lbs (8 stone 2.2)
  • Highest weight posted since then:
  • Xmas 2008 = 223.6 lbs (15 stone 13.6), 48.2% BF, lean body mass 116.0 lbs (8 stone 4)
  • Lowest weight posted since then:
  • Nov 16 2009 = 193.2 lbs (13 stone 11.2), 43.7% BF, lean body mass 108.8 lbs (7 stone 10.8)
  • Lowest body fat posted since then:
  • Sep 7 2009 = 194.2 lbs (13 stone 12.2), 42.6% BF, lean body mass 111.5 lbs (7 stone 13.5)
  • My blubber reduction journey 2011:
  • Xmas 2010 = 221.6 lbs, 46.7% BF, 118.1 lbs LBM
  • 5 Jan = 221.0 lbs, 47.1% BF
  • 12 Jan = 219.6 lbs, 45.8% BF
  • 19 Jan = 220.4 lbs, 45.8% BF (TTOM)
  • 26 Jan = 218.8 lbs, 45.2% BF
  • 2 Feb = 218.8 lbs, 44.7% BF
  • 9 Feb = 219.4 lbs, 44.9% BF
  • 16 Feb = 215.8 lbs, 44.6% BF
  • 23 Feb = 213.2 lbs, 45.2% BF
  • 2 Mar = 211.6 lbs, 45.9% BF
  • 9 Mar = 209.8 lbs, 45.1% BF
  • 16 Mar = 208.8 lbs, 45.3% BF
  • 23 Mar = 208.0 lbs, 45.1% BF
  • 13 Apr = 208.4 lbs, 44.4% BF
  • 20 Apr = 207.6 lbs, 43.3% BF
  • 27 Apr = 205.0 lbs, 45.8% BF
  • 4 May = 209.2 lbs, 45.2% BF (TTOM)
  • No. weeks: 18
  • Average weekly weight loss: 0.31%
  • 101 in 1001

    28 down, 5 goals revoked, 68 to go, and 94 days to do them. Check out the 101 page, above, for all the latest on my journey to be a better blubberbegone.

    Archive

    July 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

    Blog Stats

    • 75,310 hits

