To PN or not to PN, that is the question

May 26, 2009 at 9:45 pm 4 comments

Today I came up against a bit of dilemma that had me questioning everything I know about myself, about nutrition and about weight loss. The Team at Precision Nutrition (PN) are about to launch a 6-month nutrition and fitness training programme called Lean Eating for men and women who want to lose weight and get in shape. The programme provides unrivalled support and coaching and is incredibly reasonably priced. Plus, places are limited to 100 women and 100 men, and there is a $10,000 prize in each category (men and women) for the best transformation. Registration begins tomorrow (Wed 27th May 09) and details can be found here.

As a member, and because I pre-registered my interest, I had the opportunity to reserve a place today, 24 hours before everybody else, and so be in with a good shot at getting one of the no-doubt coveted spots. So here is my dilemma…Should I?

The Pros:

  • It is a sound, scientifically based system of nutrition, and all of the cutting edge research is now pointing to PN-style advice for maximal weightloss. If I followed the programme, I would no doubt achieve superb results.
  • Everything I read this days, whether about fitness, business, whatever, says that the people who succeed tend to have mentoring and/or coaching support. If you don’t have a coach/mentor, get one. This programme provides that.
  • I had a couple of problems when I initially tried PN (see below). Individualised attention to address these could help me overcome what stands in the way of my best results.
  • Normally, this kind of support costs fortunes. They are practically giving it away here.
  • My weight has been stuck at 15 stone for around a month now. PN would shift me off this plateau and get my weigh loss going again.
  • $10,000 prize money is not too shabby.

The Cons:

  • As I said above, I had a couple of problems when I tried PN for myself a couple of years ago. The most important one was that as a depression sufferer, I found that after a few weeks, my mood began to get more erratic and I felt a little out-of-control. I associated this with the effective reduction in carb intake, as carbohydrates are linked to enhanced serotonin function, and came off the PN programme. Having spoken to JB at a conference recently, he was aware of this effect and suggested it might be dealt with using a high dose of daily fish oil. This is my primary health concern regarding PN, but the promise of individualised attention is tempting.
  • It is boring. At least for me. There seem to be many people who like the type of food in PN, but I do not seem to be one of them. I am a carb girl through and through. I am also a 15-stone carb girl, and am aware that my love of carbs, and my lack of love of veggies (see previous posts) may well be what got me into this position in the first place. Hence my continued interest in PN, despite the initial problems I had. My biggest concern is that I would not be able to stick to the programme, or that I would be absolutely miserable doing it. Hubby reckons that at least part of my depressive problems the first time round was probably due to not enjoying myself rather than the direct effects of restricted carbohydrates.
  • I made a decision at the beginning of this year that I was going to make changes, but to do them whilst continuing to have a life. I wanted to be flexible to enjoy situations that arose. I wanted to have variability and I didn’t want to obsess about calories, macronutrient ratios, carting protein-rich meals around with me everywhere I went, cooking up a hundred weight of chicken breast each weekend, etc etc. Signing up for this programme, would mean giving that up.

It is this last point that is the real sticker, I think. This is the one that is going to stop me from sticking to the programme and achieving my goals. It is the one that is going to make me most miserable. It occurs to me that perhaps I need this kind of short, sharp shock to knock me into shape, and this could be the best thing that ever happened to me. It would also mean faster results. By doing it my way, I am conceding that progress will be slow. But after talking it through with hubby, I have decided I am not at that place. I am not ready to give the programme everything I have and am thus less likely to see it through.

My weight has been stuck for around a month because I am eating too much junk – not so much at meal times, but a little of this here, a little of that there. I believe that you can lose weight and get into shape without turning into a protein bore and without giving up the life you want. I just need to stick to my principles. So here is what I have decided:

  1. Start keeping a food diary again.
  2. Be stricter with myself about meal plans and not eating other than planned snacks.
  3. Stick to my workout plan, which I have been a bit slack about the last couple of weeks. Do it even if I don’t want to.
  4. Try to implement more of the Body Fat Solution nutrition rules. Start with the veggie rule (see previous posts).
  5. If this doesn’t kick start my weight loss within two weeks from today, i.e. 9th June 2009, have a look at my calorie intake – use FitDay or the like to work out exactly what I am eating and where I need to make adjustments.
  6. If I have not lost at least 3 stone (42 pounds) come the next PN Lean Eating programme in 2010, I will sign up then.

Anyone who wishes to tell me I have made the right decision, feel free to comment below. LOL.

Entry filed under: Body Fat Solution, exercise, fat loss, heath and fitness, motivation, nutrition, Precision Nutrition, weight loss.

A very long weekend To TT or not to TT, that is the question

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cynthia  |  May 27, 2009 at 1:14 am

    I think you’ve made exactly the right decision for you. You can try the PN LECP at a later date if you think you need to. Frankly, you were making great progress with sticking to a meal plan and doing your workouts. I say resume that!

    Needless to say, the same email and opportunity landed on my deck and I thought about it and decided that now was not the right time for me either.

    Reply
    • 2. blubberbegone  |  May 27, 2009 at 1:18 am

      God love you girl. Thanks. We can prop each other up in the meantime!

  • 3. Cynthia  |  May 27, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Oh, check out this post on Skwigg’s blog:

    http://skwigg.tripod.com/blog/index.blog?entry_id=1911455

    The book sounds like an interesting read, I’m hoping maybe my small town library will get it, but am not holding my breath. Perhaps I’ll indulge and buy. However, I liked this quote and feel it is applicable to your feelings about PN and again, I think you did exactly right.

    “There is no easy solution to the problem. I was relieved that Kessler didn’t push a restrictive diet as the way to handle it. He says that the only plan that will work is one built around your lifestyle and your personal likes and dislikes, that you can’t sustain a change in behavior if it leaves you feeling hungry, unhappy, angry or resentful.”

    Reply
  • 4. Cynthia  |  May 27, 2009 at 1:26 am

    I admit, the temptation to sign up was great… because of the $$$ signs rolling, but I just knew I’d better not. I’m sticking with Gilad for now… that’s hard enough for me, but so far I don’t feel like I’m winding up hurt. Just sore. Short workouts, less stress, I think is better for my body. Even if my brain likes to go hard.

    Of course, zip has happened in weight loss this week, but I’m maintaining and feeling good and the bodyfat meter keeps saying good things, so I’m running with it. God my shoulders are going to be sore from the pushups I think. They hurt NOW and it’s only a couple hours later.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Blubberbegone Stats

  • Start: 16 stone, 45.7% body fat
  • Goal: 10 stone, 20% body fat
  • Today: 14 stone 13.6 lbs, 44.8% BF
  • Pounds lost: 14.4
  • Body fat lost: 0.9%
  • Exercise this week (Sat–Fri):
  • Total: 2 hr 5 mins
  • Jog/Walk: 20 mins
  • Walking: 20 mins
  • Burlesque: 1 hr
  • Pilates: 25 mins
  • African dance: mins
  • Tae Kwon Do: mins
  • Badminton: mins
  • Tai Chi: mins
  • Yoga: hr
  • Exercise last week: 4 hrs 40 mins
  • Joke of the Day

    I'm not fat - I'm a woman and a half.

    Motivation

    My Weight Loss Goals

  • 1. Crack 15 stone (210 lbs) for the fourth and final (I hope) time.
  • 2. Lose 10% of my body fat (14 stone 4).
  • 3. Fit into a size 18 (US 16).
  • 4. Get my body fat below 40%
  • 5. Lose another 10% of my body fat (12 stone 12/180 lbs).
  • 6. Get my BMI under 30 (12 stone 9/177 lbs) - no longer obese, just overweight now.
  • 7. Weigh less than my husband.
  • 8. Fit into a size 16 (US 14).
  • 9. Lose my third 10% (11 stone 8/162 lbs).
  • 10. Fit into a size 14 (US 12).
  • 11. Get my BMI under 25 (10 stone 8/148 lbs).
  • 12. Lose my fourth 10% (10 stone 6/ 146 lbs).
  • 13. Fit into a size 12 (US 10).
  • 14. Reach my goal weight (10 stone) and decide if I need to lose any more based on my muscularity and shape.
  • 15. Turn heads in a bikini!
  • My Fitness Goals for 2011

  • 1. Increase my cruising walking speed from around 5.0kph to 6.4kph.
  • 2. Increase continuous jogging time to 30 mins.
  • 3. Run a 5K for charity.
  • 4. Work on my crawl stroke and build up to 30 mins continuous swimming.
  • 5. Build up to 1 hour continuous and comfortable cycling.
  • 6. Squat 50kg.
  • 7. Do an unassisted chin up.
  • 8. Take a martial arts or self-defence class for at least 3 months.
  • 9. Beat my husband at badminton.
  • 10. Learn a new dance style.
  • My Blubber Reduction Journey

  • My highest measured weight ever:
  • Jan 1 2006 = 238 lbs (17 stone)
  • BBG blog starting weight:
  • Sep 16 2007 = 215.5 lbs (15 stone 5.5), 47.0% BF Lean body mass 114.2 lbs (8 stone 2.2)
  • Highest weight posted since then:
  • Xmas 2008 = 223.6 lbs (15 stone 13.6), 48.2% BF, lean body mass 116.0 lbs (8 stone 4)
  • Lowest weight posted since then:
  • Nov 16 2009 = 193.2 lbs (13 stone 11.2), 43.7% BF, lean body mass 108.8 lbs (7 stone 10.8)
  • Lowest body fat posted since then:
  • Sep 7 2009 = 194.2 lbs (13 stone 12.2), 42.6% BF, lean body mass 111.5 lbs (7 stone 13.5)
  • My blubber reduction journey 2011:
  • Xmas 2010 = 221.6 lbs, 46.7% BF, 118.1 lbs LBM
  • 5 Jan = 221.0 lbs, 47.1% BF
  • 12 Jan = 219.6 lbs, 45.8% BF
  • 19 Jan = 220.4 lbs, 45.8% BF (TTOM)
  • 26 Jan = 218.8 lbs, 45.2% BF
  • 2 Feb = 218.8 lbs, 44.7% BF
  • 9 Feb = 219.4 lbs, 44.9% BF
  • 16 Feb = 215.8 lbs, 44.6% BF
  • 23 Feb = 213.2 lbs, 45.2% BF
  • 2 Mar = 211.6 lbs, 45.9% BF
  • 9 Mar = 209.8 lbs, 45.1% BF
  • 16 Mar = 208.8 lbs, 45.3% BF
  • 23 Mar = 208.0 lbs, 45.1% BF
  • 13 Apr = 208.4 lbs, 44.4% BF
  • 20 Apr = 207.6 lbs, 43.3% BF
  • 27 Apr = 205.0 lbs, 45.8% BF
  • 4 May = 209.2 lbs, 45.2% BF (TTOM)
  • No. weeks: 18
  • Average weekly weight loss: 0.31%
  • 101 in 1001

    28 down, 5 goals revoked, 68 to go, and 94 days to do them. Check out the 101 page, above, for all the latest on my journey to be a better blubberbegone.

    Archive

    May 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

    Blog Stats

    • 76,219 hits

