Steady progress, chicken rendang, and on being a personal trainer

March 8, 2009 at 11:56 am 3 comments

I feel I should post because today is official weigh day and I haven’t posted anything for a few days, but really, there isn’t much to report. For the last three days I have been back on the top line on my fridge weight-loss progress chart (see below) – I had an idea this might happen which is why I got hubby to take a picture on the day I inched on to the second line. Having said that, my official weigh-in today put me 0.4 pounds down on last Sunday’s weigh-in and 0.3% BF down, also giving me my first ‘official’ body fat reading in the 45% range this year. So slow but steady progress then, and I am quite happy with that.

I managed all my schedule BFS workouts again last week, if only by the skin of my teeth. I didn’t do my workout on Thursday – I was feeling a bit ropey, which meant I had to do weights and intervals on Friday. But I had a personal training client after work, after which hubby and I went to a concert of the local university (Manchester, England) big band, which was great. And then we grabbed some dinner at a nearby Asian restaurant (noodles, stir fries, that kind of thing). I refused to order the least fattening thing on the menu as I am trying to break free of the diet mentality, and in my ongoing attempts to improve my relationship with food, chose the one I most liked the sound of at the time. I had a Malaysian chicken rendang curry with rice, with a side serving of stir fried vegetables. Mmmmm. Heavy on the coconut milk, but absolutely delicious. And I stopped when I was full, without cleaning off the plate. But it was past 10 pm when we got home. I procrastinated a bit because I was tired, but eventually, the lure of ticking off my Joe’s Goals scorecard and of maintaining my unblemished BFS record, was too great and I began my workout around midnight, finishing at nearly 1.30 in the morning! But I did it, and slept like a baby afterwards with a clear head, clear pores and a clear conscience. All in all, I did over six hours of exercise again last week, and belly dancing with my mum now seems to have become a weekly ritual, which is quite nice.

With regards to the personal training client, I qualified as a personal trainer at the beginning of 2006 but never worked as one. I opened a business doing corporate work, which mostly involved stress management workshops, better backs programmes, and on-site fitness classes. I made one attempt to get some PT clients, posting flyers through the doors in my neighbourhood, but only got one call. I was really nervous when I went round for the initial consultation because being overweight and unfit myself (the reason I became a PT in the first place), I lacked confidence and found it hard to believe people would listen to me, despite my knowledge. It didn’t help that she was an aerobics teacher. Anyway, it didn’t go very well and she never called back. And that was about two years ago. But as my depression lifts, my body image shifts and I learn to respect and love myself for who I am and not what I look like (an ongoing process), I decided I would like to give it another go. I have also been buoyed by being able to provide useful advice to several people on the BFS forums, which has strengthened my realisation that I do have something to offer. So in an attempt to buoy my confidence and get some hands on experience, I offered my pilates class free personal training sessions. Two of them took me up on it and I had my first session Friday night and my second Saturday morning, both of which went really well, and I am now starting to re-consider a future in the fitness industry.

Entry filed under: Body Fat Solution, exercise, fat loss, heath and fitness, motivation, nutrition, weight loss.

On the second line Less is more

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cynthia  |  March 8, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    You are doing great! Progress on all fronts, I’d say!

    Can’t believe you did that late night workout, but WOW! That’s great commitment! I mean seriously, you deserve to feel good about that one!

    Stopping eating when I am full is hard. It’s one of the things I’m working on, especially when eating out. Though lately we have not done much of that. Truth is, except for the more expensive places, most of the restaurants here in town are marginal at best. It’s sad, but better for the waistline, I suppose! I’d kill for a curry like you described! There is no such thing to be found locally since our one Thai restaurant closed.

    As for the personal training thing, I’ve noticed a couple of the women personal trainers at our gym are not, frankly, exactly lean themselves. Yet, they still get some clients I presume. So while I think it helps to be and look fit in that industry, if you help people, I suspect they’ll forgive your personal foibles. Be honest that you struggle and well, you might be perfect for those who get intimidated by ultra lean and fit folks.

    Reply
    • 2. blubberbegone  |  March 8, 2009 at 10:51 pm

      Hey Cyn,

      Re: the personal training, I always thought that having ‘been there’ would be an advantage, but that only works in situations with clients in a similar position. The one I met two years ago was a superfit gym-bunny and I was completely intimidated!

      Re: chicken rendang – I was thinking of hunting down a recipe and posting on the site, so I will definitely do that now. Obviously, I will have to test it out first, tee hee.

      Re: stopping eating when you’re full, your (and my previous) inability to do this has more to do with our diet history than any failure of moral fibre on our parts. There is a really good book that I want you to read. In fact, I want you to read it so much, I’ve just ordered it for you! In the meantime, check out the string of comments under the posting at this post.

  • 3. Cynthia  |  March 8, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    I meant clients now… especially if you are looking for weight loss clients. Sure, some of those folks may prefer a fit and lean trainer, but some may be more comfortable with someone like themselves who KNOWS the alternate ways of working around body issues from experience.

    I did get the bit about the one two years ago being a gym bunny, and yeah, no good if you are intimidated by the client!

    If you can find a recipe, I’m game! I am not such a good cook, but I am usually OK with following recipes. I end up altering to my taste, but hey, that’s how it works.

    Now don’t go ordering a book for me if it’s the new BodyFatSolution by Tom Venuto, because I HAVE it. Relative gave it to me for Xmas. Just haven’t read it yet. Recent arrival and I was ah, way overdue on a library book about menopause that I had to finish first before the fine got bigger.

    Interesting about the carb thing you experienced on PN where it impacted your depression… I don’t think I had that happen. But I do like a “little” more freedom on carbs than PN gave me. The funny bit is, I still tend to think compliant/non-compliant on my meals. Sort of a self check I can’t quite get out of the habit of!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Blubberbegone Stats

  • Start: 16 stone, 45.7% body fat
  • Goal: 10 stone, 20% body fat
  • Today: 14 stone 13.6 lbs, 44.8% BF
  • Pounds lost: 14.4
  • Body fat lost: 0.9%
  • Exercise this week (Sat–Fri):
  • Total: 2 hr 5 mins
  • Jog/Walk: 20 mins
  • Walking: 20 mins
  • Burlesque: 1 hr
  • Pilates: 25 mins
  • African dance: mins
  • Tae Kwon Do: mins
  • Badminton: mins
  • Tai Chi: mins
  • Yoga: hr
  • Exercise last week: 4 hrs 40 mins
  • Joke of the Day

    I'm not fat - I'm a woman and a half.

    Motivation

    My Weight Loss Goals

  • 1. Crack 15 stone (210 lbs) for the fourth and final (I hope) time.
  • 2. Lose 10% of my body fat (14 stone 4).
  • 3. Fit into a size 18 (US 16).
  • 4. Get my body fat below 40%
  • 5. Lose another 10% of my body fat (12 stone 12/180 lbs).
  • 6. Get my BMI under 30 (12 stone 9/177 lbs) - no longer obese, just overweight now.
  • 7. Weigh less than my husband.
  • 8. Fit into a size 16 (US 14).
  • 9. Lose my third 10% (11 stone 8/162 lbs).
  • 10. Fit into a size 14 (US 12).
  • 11. Get my BMI under 25 (10 stone 8/148 lbs).
  • 12. Lose my fourth 10% (10 stone 6/ 146 lbs).
  • 13. Fit into a size 12 (US 10).
  • 14. Reach my goal weight (10 stone) and decide if I need to lose any more based on my muscularity and shape.
  • 15. Turn heads in a bikini!
  • My Fitness Goals for 2011

  • 1. Increase my cruising walking speed from around 5.0kph to 6.4kph.
  • 2. Increase continuous jogging time to 30 mins.
  • 3. Run a 5K for charity.
  • 4. Work on my crawl stroke and build up to 30 mins continuous swimming.
  • 5. Build up to 1 hour continuous and comfortable cycling.
  • 6. Squat 50kg.
  • 7. Do an unassisted chin up.
  • 8. Take a martial arts or self-defence class for at least 3 months.
  • 9. Beat my husband at badminton.
  • 10. Learn a new dance style.
  • My Blubber Reduction Journey

  • My highest measured weight ever:
  • Jan 1 2006 = 238 lbs (17 stone)
  • BBG blog starting weight:
  • Sep 16 2007 = 215.5 lbs (15 stone 5.5), 47.0% BF Lean body mass 114.2 lbs (8 stone 2.2)
  • Highest weight posted since then:
  • Xmas 2008 = 223.6 lbs (15 stone 13.6), 48.2% BF, lean body mass 116.0 lbs (8 stone 4)
  • Lowest weight posted since then:
  • Nov 16 2009 = 193.2 lbs (13 stone 11.2), 43.7% BF, lean body mass 108.8 lbs (7 stone 10.8)
  • Lowest body fat posted since then:
  • Sep 7 2009 = 194.2 lbs (13 stone 12.2), 42.6% BF, lean body mass 111.5 lbs (7 stone 13.5)
  • My blubber reduction journey 2011:
  • Xmas 2010 = 221.6 lbs, 46.7% BF, 118.1 lbs LBM
  • 5 Jan = 221.0 lbs, 47.1% BF
  • 12 Jan = 219.6 lbs, 45.8% BF
  • 19 Jan = 220.4 lbs, 45.8% BF (TTOM)
  • 26 Jan = 218.8 lbs, 45.2% BF
  • 2 Feb = 218.8 lbs, 44.7% BF
  • 9 Feb = 219.4 lbs, 44.9% BF
  • 16 Feb = 215.8 lbs, 44.6% BF
  • 23 Feb = 213.2 lbs, 45.2% BF
  • 2 Mar = 211.6 lbs, 45.9% BF
  • 9 Mar = 209.8 lbs, 45.1% BF
  • 16 Mar = 208.8 lbs, 45.3% BF
  • 23 Mar = 208.0 lbs, 45.1% BF
  • 13 Apr = 208.4 lbs, 44.4% BF
  • 20 Apr = 207.6 lbs, 43.3% BF
  • 27 Apr = 205.0 lbs, 45.8% BF
  • 4 May = 209.2 lbs, 45.2% BF (TTOM)
  • No. weeks: 18
  • Average weekly weight loss: 0.31%
  • 101 in 1001

    28 down, 5 goals revoked, 68 to go, and 94 days to do them. Check out the 101 page, above, for all the latest on my journey to be a better blubberbegone.

    Archive

    March 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

    Blog Stats

    • 76,230 hits

