Every Mistake in the Book

November 13, 2007 at 12:12 am 3 comments

Like the title says, I made every classic dieter’s mistake this week. It started with just one, then the others all piled up one after another. It was like opening the floodgates.

I think the root of the problem was that I didn’t take my food journal to work with me. Until I started working, every single thing that went into my mouth was written down within 10 minutes or so and my totals tallied. Since I began working, I’ve been totting up at the end of the day, sometimes even the next morning. In retrospect, this probably had the effect of divorcing me from my efforts. Writing everything down reminded me several times a day of what I was striving for and how well I was doing. I managed OK for a few days, but by Friday I’d had a week of not really monitoring myself properly, although I was preparing all my food and eating right.

Then on Friday, there it was, in the kitchen at work, that last tiny little piece of somebody’s birthday cake. I know, I know. I resisted at first, even left the kitchen. I know it’s always somebody’s birthday/leaving/new account/getting married/whatever. But then I went back, just for a tiny taste, just a little bit of icing. That was mistake number two – the “just one bite” trap. Satisfied with my one bite I went back to my office. But sitting there with the taste of sugar in my mouth…. I went and got it, that last piece of cake. And it really was tiny, it had probably been subdivided a couple of times. Oh well, no real harm done in the grand scheme of things – one tiny piece of cake in 7 weeks is not the end of the world.

Next came the emotional eating. Hubby was out with friends for drinks after work, and I was exhausted after my first week. Thursday night I’d even come home, had a bowl of soup and was in bed for 7.30pm, sleeping right through till morning. No workout, of course. Anyway, didn’t feel much like cooking for myself so stopped for a Chinese on my way home. Chili beef with boiled rice. Not terrible. On it’s own. But it was really spicy, so I had some ice cream to neutralise it. Then hubby called. He was fed up and wanted to come home early and could I order him a pizza and potato wedges. Mmmm pizza. And despite having got up to nearly 17 stone at my heaviest, I can honestly say, hand on my heart, that I have NEVER done this before. I had a small pizza and some wedges too. I ate a whole second dinner. I was so ill I could barely breath. I whimpered myself to sleep wondering what had possessed me. No workout, of course.

From Friday night through to Sunday night, I had two pizzas, a Chinese, and an Indian. And some crisps. Well, rice chips, not quite as bad. I had been eating them in measured out portions when I was on the points plan and had some left (an achievement in itself). But instead of measuring out a portion, I figured I’d “just have a few” from the tub. No prizes for guessing what happened next. Why don’t I learn? I also barely did a workout. I dragged myself though the weights portion of my Turbulence Training workout one night, but that’s been it. I’m way overdue with my TT workouts and I never did make up the interval training.

The other trap I fell into was, I think, letting a plateau get to me. I knew it was just a plateau, and I knew that if I just stuck with it the weight loss would suddenly start up again. But after 3 weeks without seeing any progress, I think I just allowed myself to be drawn over to the dark side without too much of a fight. The I’m-working-so-hard-and-what-for self pity. The trick now is not to replace it with self-loathing. Just pick myself up, be nice to myself, and move on. Some of my older readers may remember that I suffer from depression, and it was this that derailed my PN challenge attempt. I’ve been rather weepy today, but whether the depression stems from my ‘failures’ over the weekend, or the other way round, is a matter of debate.

So anyway, all told my weight on Sunday wasn’t as bad as I’d expected. I’m not sure what this week will bring with regard to exercise – I just feel so wiped out. Maybe I will cut right back, just do my TT workouts since I’m so close to finishing the 4-week intermediate programme. I just don’t feel like working out in the evenings at the moment. Maybe this will get easier as I get used to being back in the workforce. I could say that I will start getting up earlier and working out before I leave the house, but this isn’t really very likely. I’ve never been a morning person in my life. The other alternative is to workout a little at lunchtime, although there are no showering facilities at work. I could do pilates, or a brisk walk though (very brisk in this weather). There’s also apparently a pool nearby and I’ve arranged to go swimming with one of the girls from work on Thursday.

Plus, my super supportive hubby just asked me what percentage of my total goal weight loss I’ve lost so far, and it’s 13%! God bless him. Feeling a bit more positive and motivated now. ‘night all.

Entry filed under: Body image, exercise, fat loss, heath and fitness, inspiration, motivation, weight loss, Weight Watchers.

Not-my-meeting Day Nutrition Tip of the Week no. 6

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lady Shanny  |  November 13, 2007 at 1:58 am

    A crappy weekend does not a whole lifetime make. So you splurged. No big deal. That doesn’t mean that the whole thing has come off the rails. That’s the great part about being an adult….you get to make whatever choices you want.

    I imagine it’s really mentally draining to have this new job and I’m not surprised that you are exhausted. That can make the weight loss thing even harder because even if you have good food options, the body sometimes just wants to be comforted with some not-so-healthy food.

    Stay strong….your body will get used to the new routine.

    Reply
  • 2. sara  |  November 13, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    a crappy weekend is just that, a weekend. It doesn’t negate any of your hard work so don’t let it get you down. You’ve come so far already, just deciding to make the change is a massive achievement.

    Enjoy swimming, its my favourite type of exercise (well to be honest, the only type of excersise I do!!) but I am taking up belly dancing next week now I have less of a belly!

    Hope work isn’t taking it out of you too much. Once you settle down into a routine then things will pick up. Don’t you worry. 13% of your target is really good, well done!

    Keep positive,
    Sara x

    Reply
  • 3. blubberbegone  |  November 13, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    Thanks Shanny and Sara. Intellectually I know all this. But being rational about food isn’t what got me to this point. It’s a process alright. I’m going to do a pilates workout in my lunch hour tomorrow – see how that goes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Blubberbegone Stats

  • Start: 16 stone, 45.7% body fat
  • Goal: 10 stone, 20% body fat
  • Today: 14 stone 13.6 lbs, 44.8% BF
  • Pounds lost: 14.4
  • Body fat lost: 0.9%
  • Exercise this week (Sat–Fri):
  • Total: 2 hr 5 mins
  • Jog/Walk: 20 mins
  • Walking: 20 mins
  • Burlesque: 1 hr
  • Pilates: 25 mins
  • African dance: mins
  • Tae Kwon Do: mins
  • Badminton: mins
  • Tai Chi: mins
  • Yoga: hr
  • Exercise last week: 4 hrs 40 mins
  • Joke of the Day

    I'm not fat - I'm a woman and a half.

    Motivation

    My Weight Loss Goals

  • 1. Crack 15 stone (210 lbs) for the fourth and final (I hope) time.
  • 2. Lose 10% of my body fat (14 stone 4).
  • 3. Fit into a size 18 (US 16).
  • 4. Get my body fat below 40%
  • 5. Lose another 10% of my body fat (12 stone 12/180 lbs).
  • 6. Get my BMI under 30 (12 stone 9/177 lbs) - no longer obese, just overweight now.
  • 7. Weigh less than my husband.
  • 8. Fit into a size 16 (US 14).
  • 9. Lose my third 10% (11 stone 8/162 lbs).
  • 10. Fit into a size 14 (US 12).
  • 11. Get my BMI under 25 (10 stone 8/148 lbs).
  • 12. Lose my fourth 10% (10 stone 6/ 146 lbs).
  • 13. Fit into a size 12 (US 10).
  • 14. Reach my goal weight (10 stone) and decide if I need to lose any more based on my muscularity and shape.
  • 15. Turn heads in a bikini!
  • My Fitness Goals for 2011

  • 1. Increase my cruising walking speed from around 5.0kph to 6.4kph.
  • 2. Increase continuous jogging time to 30 mins.
  • 3. Run a 5K for charity.
  • 4. Work on my crawl stroke and build up to 30 mins continuous swimming.
  • 5. Build up to 1 hour continuous and comfortable cycling.
  • 6. Squat 50kg.
  • 7. Do an unassisted chin up.
  • 8. Take a martial arts or self-defence class for at least 3 months.
  • 9. Beat my husband at badminton.
  • 10. Learn a new dance style.
  • My Blubber Reduction Journey

  • My highest measured weight ever:
  • Jan 1 2006 = 238 lbs (17 stone)
  • BBG blog starting weight:
  • Sep 16 2007 = 215.5 lbs (15 stone 5.5), 47.0% BF Lean body mass 114.2 lbs (8 stone 2.2)
  • Highest weight posted since then:
  • Xmas 2008 = 223.6 lbs (15 stone 13.6), 48.2% BF, lean body mass 116.0 lbs (8 stone 4)
  • Lowest weight posted since then:
  • Nov 16 2009 = 193.2 lbs (13 stone 11.2), 43.7% BF, lean body mass 108.8 lbs (7 stone 10.8)
  • Lowest body fat posted since then:
  • Sep 7 2009 = 194.2 lbs (13 stone 12.2), 42.6% BF, lean body mass 111.5 lbs (7 stone 13.5)
  • My blubber reduction journey 2011:
  • Xmas 2010 = 221.6 lbs, 46.7% BF, 118.1 lbs LBM
  • 5 Jan = 221.0 lbs, 47.1% BF
  • 12 Jan = 219.6 lbs, 45.8% BF
  • 19 Jan = 220.4 lbs, 45.8% BF (TTOM)
  • 26 Jan = 218.8 lbs, 45.2% BF
  • 2 Feb = 218.8 lbs, 44.7% BF
  • 9 Feb = 219.4 lbs, 44.9% BF
  • 16 Feb = 215.8 lbs, 44.6% BF
  • 23 Feb = 213.2 lbs, 45.2% BF
  • 2 Mar = 211.6 lbs, 45.9% BF
  • 9 Mar = 209.8 lbs, 45.1% BF
  • 16 Mar = 208.8 lbs, 45.3% BF
  • 23 Mar = 208.0 lbs, 45.1% BF
  • 13 Apr = 208.4 lbs, 44.4% BF
  • 20 Apr = 207.6 lbs, 43.3% BF
  • 27 Apr = 205.0 lbs, 45.8% BF
  • 4 May = 209.2 lbs, 45.2% BF (TTOM)
  • No. weeks: 18
  • Average weekly weight loss: 0.31%
  • 101 in 1001

    28 down, 5 goals revoked, 68 to go, and 94 days to do them. Check out the 101 page, above, for all the latest on my journey to be a better blubberbegone.

    Archive

    November 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

    Blog Stats

    • 75,651 hits

